News   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
Independent Pharmacy Academy

Uniting the Voice of Independent Pharmacy in Texas

The Texas Pharmacy Association’s Independent Pharmacy Academy (IPA) aims to strengthen and unite the voice of independent pharmacy in Texas for effective pharmacy advocacy, as well as to advance independent community pharmacy practice by creating a forum to share innovative and entrepreneurial practices, discuss business challenges, and identify solutions. IPA membership is open to ALL independent pharmacy owners and staff pharmacists. IPA members are required to be TPA members.

Academy Chair Aaron Gibson, Pharm.D., is excited about the possibilities. “The formation of the Independent Pharmacy Academy is a giant leap forward to ensure that independent pharmacy in Texas has a powerful, unified voice that can effectively influence the legislative process," he said.


IPA Board of Directors

In July 2020, Texas Pharmacy Association President Raj Chhadua appointed a distinguished and diverse group of independent pharmacy owners from around the state to serve on the Board of Directors for the new Independent Pharmacy Academy. Members of the inaugural Academy board are:

  • Chair: Aaron Gibson, Pharm.D. (Prescription Shop, Andrews, TX)
  • Chair-elect: Robert Emfinger, R.Ph. (Kemp Family Pharmacy, Kemp, TX)
  • Immediate Past Chair: Carter High, Pharm.D. (Best Value Pharmacies, Fort Worth, TX) or Lee Ann Hampton, Pharm.D. (Paris Apothecary, Paris, TX)
    (Note: Both High and Hampton are running this summer for a position on the TPA Board of Directors. The candidate not elected to the TPA board has agreed to serve on the IPA board.)
  • Director 1: Danny Vela, R.Ph. (Lee's Pharmacy North, McAllen, TX)
  • Director 2: J.D. Fain, R.Ph. (Pieratt's Pharmacy, Giddings, TX)
  • Director 3: Ben McNabb, Pharm.D. (Love Oak Pharmacy, Eastland, TX)
  • Director 4: Emmanuel Omehe, R.Ph. (Heritage Pharmacy, Garland, TX)
  • Director 5: Crystal McEntire, Pharm.D. (Hyland's Pharmacy, Wheeler, TX)
  • Director 6: Shawn Sams, Pharm.D. (Louis Morgan Drug #4, Longview, TX)
  • Director Emeritus: Ray Carvajal, R.Ph. (Carvajal Pharmacy, San Antonio, TX)
  • Director Emeritus: Bruce McAnally, R.Ph. (Bonham Family Drug, Bonham, TX)

Going forward, Academy members will elect their new officers and board members.


Texas Pharmacy Association Announces New Academy to Strengthen, Unite Independent Pharmacy

June 25, 2020

In a bold move to strengthen and unite the voice of independent pharmacy in the Lone Star State, the Texas Pharmacy Association (TPA) is excited to announce the launch of its Independent Pharmacy Academy and welcomes members of the Alliance of Independent Pharmacists of Texas as charter members of the Academy.

“As the only organization in Texas representing all pharmacy professionals in all practice settings, TPA is uniquely positioned to be a strong advocate for independent pharmacy in our state,” TPA President Raj Chhadua said. “The time has come for pharmacy to unify in Texas. Our new Independent Pharmacy Academy strengthens our ability to advocate for critical issues, such as meaningful Pharmacy Benefit Manager reform legislation, that are especially important to the sustainability of independent pharmacies in Texas.”

TPA and Alliance leaders recognized that for the profession to be most effective with its public policy agenda, pharmacy must speak with one voice. Both groups have worked for months to unite independent pharmacy to positively impact the profession. The Independent Pharmacy Academy is designed to advance independent pharmacy’s legislative priorities in Texas in a more robust and effective manner, with the resources and brand necessary to influence state officials. TPA is grateful to the Alliance for providing initial funding to create a more powerful public affairs and lobbying force.

“The Alliance Board concluded that the best option for our voice to be heard is to unite with our state association,” said Alliance President Carter High. “The Texas Pharmacy Association has a name that carries weight at the Capitol. We strongly believe that aligning our organization, values, and culture with TPA gives independent pharmacy its best chance for legislative success. This new Academy is for all independent pharmacists in Texas and we welcome them.”

In addition to providing a more unified voice for effective pharmacy advocacy in Texas, the Academy aims to strengthen independent community pharmacy practice by creating a forum to share innovative and entrepreneurial practices, discuss business challenges, and identify solutions.

The Independent Pharmacy Academy will operate as part of TPA and will be governed by its own bylaws and elected leadership. Academy members must be active members of TPA and must pay applicable dues to the Academy as an owner, pharmacist, or associate. More information about joining the Academy will be announced in the coming weeks.

more Calendar

Pharmacy-Based Immunization Delivery

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal